The Bake Off dream is over! Love Productions’ decision to sell the rights of the iconic show to Channel 4 has been met with national outrage, becoming known as simply ‘Bakexit’. The decision has also seen the stars of the show fall like a poorly secured gingerbread structure leaving social media awash with ‘expensive tent’ jokes.

British institution, Mary Berry, aka Mez Bez, is the latest to drop out with many wondering who could ever replace her? With that in mind, we surveyed 1,000 of our panellists to find out who they would like to see fill Bezza’s boots.

Nigella Lawson was the viewers top choice for hosting the Channel 4 ‘bake over’ with 18.7% of the votes. Whether it’s based on looks or her sheer love of food, one thing is for sure, Nigella’s got the innuendos covered.

Next in line to the Bake Off throne was previous GBBO winner, Nadiya Hussain who came equally placed with Delia Smith on 14.1% of the votes. Third place went to Essex’s finest, Jamie Oliver (12%) which would see an all-male judging line-up for the first time in the shows history following the news that Paul Hollywood would be moving to Channel 4 along with the show.

Other suggestions included ex-Saturday Kitchen and cake enthusiast James Martin (9.4%), northern duo the Hairy Bikers (8.4%), Italian micro-chef, Gino Di Campo (8.4%) and ex-model turned TV foodie Lorraine Pascal (7.3%) amongst other well-known TV chefs.

But it wasn’t just foodie based suggestions. Some people thought a little more outside the cake box. Given that the move is to Channel 4, Davina McCall has to be considered and picked up 4.6% of the votes. Other curveballs included Fearne Cotton (5.5%) and the frankly inspired choice of Danny Dyer (3.1%). Now that we’d watch!

The survey landed in the Express, on the Mailonline and Modica News. 

Top 10 replacements for Mary Berry
  1. Nigella Lawson
  2. Nadyia Hussain/Delia Smith
  3. Jamie Oliver
  4. James Martin
  5. The Hairy Bikers/Gina D’acampo
  6. Lorraine Pascal
  7. Ainsley Harriott
  8. Gordon Ramsey
  9. Rosemary Shrager
  10. Fearne Cotton